George Washington Carver Commemorative Festival

Downtown Tuskegee

Food! Fun! and More!

 

Home The Festival Youth Science Fair Vendors Picture Gallery Contact Us

The George Washington Carver Commemorative Festival, formerly known as the George Washington Carver Arts & Crafts Festival, celebrates the life and contributions of the famed scientist of Tuskegee (Institute) University.  The new name designation for this annual event offers a broader opportunity for us to commemorate the diverse legacy of Dr. Carver. 

Thousands of festival goers gather on the historic downtown square of Tuskegee, AL.  In fact, this festival is one of the top events in the State of Alabama and provides an array of activities.  The parade, vendors, fun, entertainment, food and musical/stage entertainment all offer a festive atmosphere.

Festival Highlights  Steering Committee  Map & Directions

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Festival Highlights

  • Festival parade: 9:00 am (bands, ROTC groups, walking performances, cheer leaders, dance groups floats, motorcycles, etc.) -

  • Science Fair: Exhibits celebrating Dr. Carver’s scientific work

  • Dr. Carver Character Impressionist: Recapturing the life of Dr. Carver

  • Car Show: Showing and sport and muscle cars of the past

  • Festival Theme Exhibition: Exhibit of students’ theme presentations

  • Live Musical Entertainment: Featuring renowned artists; gospel, blues, rock ‘n roll, student choruses, etc.

  • Vendors: Variety of sale items such as; arts, crafts, jewelry, clothing, food, and more

  • Surprise celebrities and guests!

  • Annual Image Luncheon: Reflective luncheon with former students and associates of Dr. Carver

  • Recognition of area schools named for Dr. Carver

  • Presentation of prizes and awards: Parade entries, student theme presentations, car show entries, and more.


Back to Top

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Steering Committee

Mailing Address: Carver Festival, PO Box 1156, Tuskegee Institute, Al 36087 or  Email Us
Rev. William C. Lennard
- Carver Festival Board Chairman

Robert L. “Bobby” Davis - Festival Steering Committee Chair

 

Parade coordinators: Magdalene Patton kennedy43@charter.net, Eloise Anderson: wanderson0273@charter.net  & June Fountain tmls@mindspring.com 
Vendor coordinator: Annie Finney
Live entertainment coordinator: Nathaniel Knight
nathaniel.knight614@yahoo.com

Science fair coordinators: Janet T. Sullen jsullen@mytu.tuskegee.edu, David Banks dabanks@mytu.tuskegee.edu

Macon County Schools: Terri Holcey holceytb@maconk12.org

Festival queen coordinators: Janet T. Sullen & Terri Holcey
Other questions and concerns please contact: Dr. Elaine C. Harrington
harringtonec@bellsouth.net 

 

 

Steering Committee Members

William C. Lennard - FourL1@aol.com
Robert Davis - r.davis2@pnc.com
Deborah Biggers - deborah.biggers@gmail.com
June Fountain - tmls@mindspring.com
Bernice L Frazier - bfrazier.sclf@gmail.com
Elaine C. Harrington - harringtonec@bellsouth.net
Major Holland - MLH4079@aol.com
Febreu Holston - fholston@mytu.tuskegee.edu
Nathaniel Knight - nathaniel.knight614@yahoo.com
Anita Lennard - anita_lennard@hotmail.com
Melvin A. Lowe - lowema@maconk12.org
Jackie Brooks - brooksja@maconk12.org
Jacqueline Carlisle - jaciecarlisle@bellsouth.net
Vester Marable - vmarable@gmail.com
Lester Patrick - lpatrick@tuskegeepd.com
Magdalene Kennedy Patton - kennedy43@charter.net
Dorothy Webber - dottwebber2@aol.com

Tuskegee University Consultants & Assistants
Dr. David Banks - TU Education Department

Dr. Melvin Gadson - TU Education Department - gadsonm@mytu.tuskegee.ed

Janet T. Sullen CAENS jsullen@mytu.tuskegee.edu
 


~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Map and Directions

I-85 Exit 38

Click on thumbnail for larger image

Map of Tuskegee

Ariel View of Downtown Tuskegee

 

Back to Top

 
Web site designed and developed by David Banks